Press "Enter" to skip to content

AWARD: Lorraine A. Williams Leadership Award – Association of Black Women Historians

Award announcement:

The Lorraine A. Williams Leadership Award honors a black woman in education or related areas, such as archives, libraries, historical societies, museums, etc.

  • Nominees must be outstanding scholars, administrators, or teachers.
  • Nominees must have demonstrated mentoring skills, not only in teaching or related work, but in providing networks that enhance the professional growth of other black women scholars and students.
  • Nominees must have demonstrated organizational leadership in groups, organizations, or institutions that impact black women.
  • Nominees need not be a member of ABWH.
  • All nominations must be accompanied by a letter (or letters) that documents each of the above criteria. A biography or CV of the nominee should be included.
  • An individual may not nominate herself.

Nomination packets should be sent to  no later than 5:00 p.m. EST on August 30, 2017. Winners will be notified no later than September 15, 2017. The 2017 award will be presented at the ABWH Annual Luncheon at the Hyatt Regency Cincinnati on September 30 during the 102nd ASALH Convention in Cincinnati, Ohio. 

For more information: